Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

As the Internet technology prospers in life, there is an uprising trend that people are getting more addictive to the computer and mobile phone. Mostly teenagers and adolescence, they regard such way of communication is a daily must, without which they won’t survive. Someone reckons that the young would gradually lose some certain of reading and writing habit. From my point of view, I agree with this.

We cannot deny the fact that the internet contains a wide range of knowledge and resources, which offers more choices to read. In addition, the use of mobile phones also can increase reading, for instance, the e-book in the phone can store several books in it and is more convenient than the physical one to carry around, so people can download books online and pick any of them to read no matter wherever or whenever they are.

However, the physical and mental damages these modern technologies have brought is quite obvious. Most of our leisure time has been stolen by portable and handy tools to a large extent. Moreover, we are getting excessively addicted while there is no way to get over them. An every eye strain in the morning after all night long staring at the little flashing screen, which is a modern symptom has become more and more severe and start to affect our life. What is more, since the majority people typing instead of writing, their writing skills are poor and they even forget the spell of some words when they try to write something. Also, the juvenile who overused modern technology is easily distracted by other things and get the short attention span. Therefore, they do not have the ability to read the material staff and how to write properly.

As far as I am concerned, although it is true that the electronic devices bring some convenient for us, the balance between applying those tools and being controlled them is very subtle, which is hard for the young to handle. I am in the camp that they should use it as less as possible.