Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

It is still widely debated topic whether cognitive abilities depends on genetics or environment is a big factor of developing intelligence. The are arguments on both sides that I will discuss now.

On the one hand, according to genetics, most of the features of the parents are inherited by children. In genetics theory, the cognitive abilities of the children are inherited especially from the mother. Thus, the mother plays a key role in developing intelligence of fetus, as pregnancy period of mother is the start of growing intelligence in kid. For example if intelligent mother previously spent her time on reading at her leisure time, without any negative destructions as bad habits, there is more probability that embrion to be born with ameliorated cognitive abilities.

Conversely, supporters of the social sciences believe intelligence is a soft skill that can be advanced depending on society and living conditions. In urban areas, city dwellers face complex issues that are intended to be solved on a daily basis rather than in countryside. For instance, city dwellers face challenges as contaminations, congestions; time scheduling that enables them to solve complex issues that directly involves intelligence level. Furthermore, intelligence level depends on education background whether a person possess high school education in combination with advanced studies as bachelor or other degree. Hence, the more person invested its time on education, learning new languages, the more intelligent he seems to be appear in the future.

Overall, I believe environmental factors oversights genetics factors as more opportunities are available to master the intelligence but it is also crucial for mother to preserve.