Some people believe that the personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public. Others think that this information should be protected.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been debates about whether or not illegal individuals’ identities should be concealed to the public. In this essay, I will discuss the rationales behind these two views before showing my personal viewpoint.

On the one hand, many people agree on keeping the privacy of delinquents’ personal details so that they can reintegrate back into the community easily. Indeed, without the belittlement from other people, they will not have to experience the feelings of low-esteem and stigmatization. Therefore, they will be encouraged to behave properly instead of reoffending after sentences. In contrast, revealing their facial features or form of identification will bring about permanent discrimination against those individuals, which prevents them from making ends meet, as habitual offenders are often rejected by recruitment agencies.

However, I side with those who approve of the idea of publicizing the criminals’ information . This is because revealing villains’ features can raise vigilance among people. Thus, they tend to prepare self-defense techniques and get rid of potentially violent behaviors, which will result in a decrease in crime rate. Moreover, exposuring this kind of information is also an efficient way in capturing violent criminals. For example, the police often seek the public’s help in locating wanted fugitives since residents have been widely alerted of those peoples’ identifications through official news and social media.

In conclusion, although it is undeniably humanitarian to have lawbreakers’ identities remain anonymous so that they can reunite with communitual activities without being discriminated, I am more convinced that the government has the responsibility to publicize the violent offenders’ personal details for the mutual benefits of society.