In some countries, celebrities complain about the way the media publicize their private lives. Some people say that they should accept it as part of their fame. To what extent…

The skyrocketing popularization of mass media during the last century has made the news more widespread than ever, especially about famous individuals. This vast coverage includes their private lives as well, as media agencies race to increase their output. Though the practice is downright illegal, consumers pass it off as something celebrities have to cope with, which I find infuriatingly unacceptable.

The act of stalking, also known is paparazzi, unnaturally infringes on others' privacy. This is a clear violation of a person's basic rights, punishable by law. After all, any human needs to have moments for themselves only in order to not expose their sensitive information, or to allow them to fulfill other mental demands without being judged by the society. The fact that businesses exploit this is not only illegal but sickening, considering that the leaked information not only depresses, but also endangers the person. The murder of John Lennon, whose apartment was known to the public, is a reminder of this constant threat caused by media stalking.

Not only that, the leakage of personal details is not a part of one's stardom; I believe otherwise - stalking is only a consequence of greed and the unreasonable curiosity of a fan base. Famous people make a name for themselves with their talents, rather than what they do in secret. Exposing those private pieces mostly form an unnecessarily negative cover on their fame, as fans nitpick on supposedly commoner, or lowly behaviors. I personally do not care much, as long as the person's doings are within limits, and I find no reason to pick on such mundane activities.

Overall, knowing its consequences, the business of spying on famous people should be banned entirely, and any opinions that support it are mere excuses.