Some people believe the purpose of education should be to help the individual become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals achieve their ambitions.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

While some argue that education's purpose is to assist individuals in becoming helpful members of society, others believe it should help them fulfill their desires. This essay will explore both perspectives and present my equal agreement with both viewpoints.

On the one hand, education can be beneficial to the community in numerous ways. At the government level, education is encouraged to train people to contribute enormously to the overall development of society. For instance, the Chinese authority has ensured an extensive education for talented athletes and even encouraged marriage among the athletic society for genetic advantage. They create a favorable environment for them to enhance their abilities and achieve championships in global tournaments, increasing the popularity and prosperity of the nation. Additionally, education has intrinsic value as the foundation of the nation’s culture. At school, students can acquire a better understanding of their unique cultural features and their nation’s history. Therefore, they will not melt away from their cultural identities, guaranteeing the number of tourists visiting the country.

On the other hand, education also equips people with the knowledge and skills they need to secure a decent occupation with lucrative incomes. This can be clearly seen in the case of my friend, who is currently studying abroad. She studied diligently to get admission to Harvard University and became a promised lawyer. She would settle in America and get married to a foreigner, as she dreamed of. Another point worth considering is that students can have the resilience and moral character to overcome obstacles and challenges. Adult life is obviously fierce, with cut-throat competition among people to achieve a specific goal. Students will fall behind if they are not proficient in practical skills such as managing their own budgets or doing housework. All of this must be learned through education, whether provided by teachers or parents.

In conclusion, the purpose of providing individuals with education to contribute enormously to society and to pursue their desires is of equal significance. It is recommended that the government secure the highest standards of education for young people, regardless of their background and motivation.