Some people believe that the salaries paid to professional sportspeople are too high, while others argue that sports salaries are fair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

it is true that whether the incomes of fulltime athletes are overpaid or those earnings are acceptable balance is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the former, the latter is much more preferable.

On the one hand, the idea that top athlete’s incomes are unfairly high that is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, comparing with workers in other careers like doctors or teachers, the payments that sports players earn are extremely higher although medical and education are more essential for human society. Secondly, the trade-off for getting paid is also unfair due to the fact that athletes have to pay far less effort than other professions such as doctors and engineers. For example, doctors and nurses have to stay up all night for their shift and always pay all their physical and mental health for saving patients life. Finally, in football industry, there are cases that the incomes of top players are inflated as their values are raised on the transfer market by the football clubs.

On the other hand, other would argue that the earning of elite sports athletes are reasonable and acceptable. The first prominent justification is that professional athletes also spent years of hardships training which means that their incomes is well worth for what they have to go through. Furthermore, famous sportsman and sportswoman fairly earn money though commercial value owning the fact that they can collaborate with production companies and using their brand recognitions to attract customers. In addition, it can be denied that world-class players are deserved high payments as they could bring glory to their own country by winning the global competitions like Olympic event or world cup. For instance, Lionel Messi is one of the highest-paid football players because of his exceptional performance that bring a lot of tittles for his country Argentina, especially the champion of world cup 2023.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentions above, although the incomes of elite athletes are overpaid, it seems evident that the earnings of professional sports players are worthy and reasonable.