Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is true that there would be convenient for citizens to access the zero-cost transport facilities which invested by the government. there are arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that government should fully involve in the public transportation investments in order to reduce the cost of transportation services to zero. The first prominent justification is that free accessibility to general transportation services could be an excellent option for reducing gas exhaust emissions because many people would chose to experience public services instead of riding their own vehicles. furthermore, citizens using public transport more frequently would also reduce traffic problems such as traffic jams or accidents owning the fact that the more civilians travel by public transportation the less personal vehicles are used. More importantly, there would be a case that free public services could grant those in financial difficulty such as workers or students opportunities to increase their life qualities. For example, there are several students that come from rural areas studying in big cities with the high cost of living therefore free transportations surely are the big support.

However, I also believe that government should not spend the national budget to sponsor the free public transportation projects. Firstly, funding a huge amount of money would cause a burden of government debt, which weighs on resident’s life though taxes. furthermore, if the transportation facilities do not meet the demand of civilians, it will create a waste of capital sources for the economy. For instance, if citizens do not take the subways to travel, facilities such as stations or trains will not be used for the right purposes and the money funding for this plan will also be considered as waste. Last but not least, the final reason could be the fact that private sectors could increase the qualities of the services as some big companies have not only huge resource but also great responsibility.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that government should allocate the budget to fund free transportation services for residents, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.