Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an impotant role in the education of children. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether or not students should be given homework. While there are some strong arguments against the setting of homework, its advantages are much more considerable.

On the one hand, there are some major advantages to giving homework. one evident strength is that it would reinforce learning and develop good study habits. school children typically retain only 50% of the information the teachers provide in class, and they need to apply that in order to truly learn it. daily assignments also help students to develop key skills such as accountability, autonomy, time management and critical thinking. Another advantage could be that it allows parents to be involved in their child's learning. Thanks to take home assignments, parents are able to track what their children are learning at school as well as their academic strengths and weaknesses. Schoolwork can also help clue parents in to the existence of any learning disabilities their children may have, allowing them to get help and adjust learning strategies as needed.

However, homework can have several disadvantages which overshadow these benefits. too much homework can be detrimental as it is not meeting the basic needs of children and adolescents. it crowds out social experience, outdoor recreation and creative activities, and usurps time that should be devoted to sleep. In addition, too many daily assignments can also harm students physically and psychologically. many students say that homework is the greatest source of stress, and the amount of homework they have to complete leads to several health problems such as headaches, exhaustion and weight loss.

In conclusion, homework certainly has some drawbacks but I believe that the benefits outweight them in long term. Teachers should give students an appropriate amount of homework so as to prevent them from health problems.