Some people believe that schoolchildren should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both views of these views and give your opinion.

371 words

People share conflicting views about the significance of homework for pupils. While a number of them believe that children do not need to do homework given by their teachers, I strongly agree that homework is extremely instrumental in young students’ education.

In the first place, there should be no requirement for homework to schoolchildren. Firstly, homework may become detrimental to students’ health. Most pupils spend at least eight hours a day at school for academic subjects, depriving them quite a bit of time for other activities to develop their physical and mental health, which consequently affects scholastic achievements. For that reason, if students are given extra homework, they may encounter health problems, such as, headaches or stress, as a result of having less time to improve their well-being, leading to unwanted consequences, such as, snoozing or distraction in classes. Secondly, homework is becoming less indispensable exercise for students’ education. It is broadly believed that homework help schoolchildren to brush up on the knowledge they grasp at school. Nevertheless, there have been more and more sources of information for students to gain and practice, so homework might be a waste of time.

On the other hand, I believe that children should be given homework for the following reasons. One of the primary causes is that it helps build the habit of learning. Studying may not be as interesting as other kinds of amusement to all the pupils to do daily, so accomplishing homework may help them become accustomed to learning and transform it into a common practice. As a result, schoolchildren can have their own regular revision to prepare for exams more easily. Another plausible explanation is that homework can supplement a better understanding of the lesson. Through this repeated activity, schoolchildren can not only comprehend what they have yet to grasp but also dig for the core details to utilize in other practices. For example, teachers instruct students about the continuous present tense, and the homework will have students learn how to use it to make complaining sentences which is more advanced knowledge to achieve.

In conclusion, although there have been different opinions about the benefits of homework, I totally agree that schoolchildren should be given this kind of exercise every day.