Some people believe that schoolchildren should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether or not children should be given homework. While there are some strong arguments against setting homework, I believe that it is still a necessary part of children ‘s education, and it should not be ignored.

It is understandable why some people believe that homework is an unnecessary burden on children. Firstly, there is evidence to support that homework cannot do anything to improve the academic performance of children. In some countries, such as England, children are not given homework, and we can see that in many international competitions they outperform their counterparts living in countries where having homework is the norm. Secondly, parents believe that school time is already long and leave children too tired to do homework when they return home. Also, many individuals claim that play time is just as beneficial as study time, which can play an important role in the brain development of children.

Despite the reasons mentioned above, I believe that homework plays an important role in the schooling of children. The main role of setting homework is to prepare children to study and solve problems independently. They learn to do their tasks alone and at their own pace. Also, by doing homework, children learn how to apply or use what they have been taught at school. For example, by solving math exercises, they learn how to use numbers in their routine activities. Also, they can gain the advantages of independent learning, as they are prepared for their adult life for working alone.

In conclusion, in my view, it is true that homework has its own drawbacks, but its benefits outweigh them.