Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the ultimate method to have a successful career is to attend universities while others argue that it is better to have a job after graduating from high school. This essay attempts to shed light on both views before concluding that going to universities is the best way to achieve success in one's career.

On the one hand, that having a job without going to universities benefits students may be true to a certain extent. First, working helps the young gain more experience in the fields in which they major. Although the young may make mistakes in the first place, they could learn from their failures and improve their skills, which results in their success in careers later on. Second, working would offer students the chance to earn more money, which allows them to have the freedom to achieve their goals. When young people have their salaries, they could use them to pay for tuitions of some courses they may take, which would help expand their knowledge and improve their skills needed for their career.

On the other hand, it would be imprudent to not attend universities after high school. Students can retain a deep understanding of their specialty in colleges. Consequently, they are more likely to be more professional when they work compared to young people who have jobs as soon as they leave high school. In addition, universities usually include training courses in their curriculum so they can teach students what they should do to tackle issues that may arise in real life. For example, most medical students spend their last year in colleges working as trainees at hospitals in order to gain more experience as well as master the skills they have learnt in classes. Therefore, these students would be likely to get highly remunerative jobs later on. With the knowledge, skills, and experience provided by disciplines in colleges, the young stand a high chance of succeeding in their career in the future.

In conclusion, while having a job after high school may be beneficial for students' careers, I would argue that attending universities is the most effective method for the young to have successful careers in the future.