Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, there is an on-going debate about whether graduating at university or college or immediately engage in the workforce after high school is the best way to get a successful career. Personally, I believe that it is better to go to college or university.

Many individuals at their early stages of life want to start work straight after school. Having a job enables them to be independent since they are able to afford their cost of living. They will have one or two years of hands-on industry experience which is usually an asset when applying for a job. Although young people can get certain jobs without a formal degree, they will find it a struggle to advance professionally. Employers tend to choose people with academic qualifications for important positions, so that those with fewer qualifications may find it challenging to rise the ranks.

On the other hand, it is my belief that continuing study is more beneficial for the youth. To commence with, academic qualifications are required in so many fields. For example, it is impossible to be a doctor or accountant without a relevant degree. As a result, with qualifications, the young can gain higher salaries right from the outset and have better job opportunities. Moreover, some academic programs require that students do an internship or a work placement in order to graduate. Due to this, not only do graduates will have academic skills, but they also familiarize themselves with the real working environment.

As outlined above, after analyzing both views, it seems to me that students who choose higher education are more likely to be successful in their career paths.