Some people believe that teaching at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

These days people are worried about the education of their children. While some believe that getting their children into a school will help them in their growth, others, however, oppose this view and instead focus on their learning at home. Both of the attitudes have benefits, but some striking detrimental effects on the mental health of these youngsters as well. But this particular attribute is absent in the school going, pupils.

Schooling of a child is a difficult job. These youngsters need trained people, in the form of teachers, to help them grow as per their potential. School for a child provides professionals, who know their job very well. For example, if a child is having difficulty in mathematics, a qualified person is usually available to troubleshoot his/her problem. However, if this particular scenario arises for a home-schooled child, he will most likely suffer, and will never be able to get guidance in time.

Home-schooled students have different challenges. Although they are academically successful, they lack the ability to interact with their age mates normally. According to a recent study published in Human Psychology Magazine which elaborated on the problem: they lack a social environment, which is required in the form of a classroom. Henceforth leading to some detrimental effects on their health.

To sum up, in my opinion, homeschooled children are prone to develop psychiatric illnesses and don’t get help in time. While school going children have the advantage of getting help from qualified teachers when they need it.