Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

In recent times, every country has had its own set of laws that incur a punishment suitable to the offense. However, this has caused a lot of controversies. Some people argued that criminals should always be subject to fixed punishment for certain crimes Others argue that situations for committing the crime should be taken into account before inflicting punishment. From my point of view, I am personally inclined to the latter view that suggests considering the circumstances of a crime while sentencing someone.

On the one hand, I believe that severe punishment makes criminal activities reduced. The death penalty, life imprisonment is both restrictive rulings and warnings for criminals. It makes them understand that there are moral boundaries that cannot be reached. For instance, some countries often have low-crime rates due to aggressive measures for enforcing fixed punishments for designated crimes. Nevertheless, the main aim of the law and order is to protect the citizen và punish the wrongdoers. Consequently, we need to depend on the circumstances and the factors that cause those consequences, to make objective assessments.

On the other hand, persecuting a convict violate human rights; often without considering the aspects leading to such crime. For example, Yemen has always been harshly condemned by the international community because of its strict law. In Yemen, women do not have the right to sue, and when they have to go to court, it is almost impossible for them to sue. In addition, in any case, indirect murder is punishable by life in prison. It means that if a criminal holds a gun and points it at you, killing that person will put you in prison forever. Finally, in my opinion, a convicted person should have been given punishment only based on the circumstances and severity of the crime.

In conclusion, I believe that both groups of the argument, for and against the fixed punishments, have their reasons. However, I think that penalties should have been decided according to variant circumstances of criminals and keeping in mind that the aim of punishment is to prevent further crimes to happen.