Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effect on a child. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the proliferation of television, computer and other high-tech devices, children are more engaged with TV programs, computer games, etc. While some people believe this is beneficial for children, I agree with the view that there are more negative effects on child’s development.

There are those who argue that children can benefit from the time spent on television, video and computer games. A significant counter-argument is that it helps to broaden the kids’ horizons. The fact that many children are learning new things on educational programs and making more friends through communities of computer games can be a supportive example. Another added advantage is that through these entertainments, kids can be relieved from the heavy burdens of school.

However, a strong argument can, of course, be made from the opposite position. Part of this argument is that kids are easily addicted into entertainments such as TV programs and computer games due to the lack of self-control. This will lead to more serious results such as poor grades, diminution of vision and other health problems. In addition, there are better ways to broaden their horizons and relax - out-door exercises, reading or traveling are all wonderful ways to explore the world.

Based on the negative effects mentioned above, I personally agree with the view that the drawbacks of watching TV, playing computer games, etc outweigh the advantages. Children are vulnerable to negative influences, thus they should be protected carefully. Therefore, it is better if children are guided to participate in various activities than to sit at home, being a coach potato or playing online games all day round. Anyway, to ensure our kids a positive and healthy childhood, more efforts should be done by parents and teachers.