Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effect on a child. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the proliferation of television, computer and other high-tech devices, children are more engaged on TV programs, computer games, etc. However, whether time spent on them bring more good or harm remains a controversial issue. In my own opinion, there are more negative effects on a child’s development.

Supporters of time spent on television, video and computer games argue that it helps to broaden the kids’ horizons. The fact that many children are learning new things on educational programs and making more friends through communities of computer games can be a supportive example. Another added advantage is that through these entertainments, kids can be relieved from the heavy burdens of school work.

However, a stronger argument can be made from the opposite position. Part of this argument is that kids are easily addicted into entertainments such as TV programs and computer games due to the lack of self-control, resulting in distractions, fatigue of eyes and brain, etc. Furthermore, these children will be under the risk of being exposed to questionable contents such as violence and eroticism, which will cause negative effects in their growth. This will further lead to more serious results such as poor grades, diminution of vision and other health problems and thus is both physically and mentally harmful.

I am personally convinced that the drawbacks of watching TV, playing computer games outweigh the advantages. Children are vulnerable to negative influences, thus they should be protected carefully. In addition, there are better ways to broaden their horizons and relax -- out-door exercises, reading or traveling are all wonderful ways to explore the world.

Therefore, it is better if children are guided to participate in various activities than to sit at home, being a coach potato or playing online games all day round. Anyway, to ensure our kids a positive and healthy childhood, more efforts should be done by parents and teachers.