The older generations tend to have traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. Some people argue that these traditional ideas are not helpful in preparing the younger generations for modern life. Do you agree or disagree?

We are living in an era where traditional beliefs and views are quickly left behind by the fast-changing society. When traditions no longer suit the society, people argue that old ideas would not help the young to adapt to modern life. While I agree some traditional views are useless and even restrictive, I doubt the opinion that all traditional ideas are helpless.

To begin with, we have to admit that some conventional thinking and behaviors has obviously decayed and even become limits for the younger generations. For instance, in ancient China, young girls should get married before the age of 25, otherwise they will be criticized and despised. Conversely, today, it is not wise to choose to get married unless one has a stable income and certain amount of savings. Obviously, these conservative and outdated traditions should and will soon become history.

Of course, that is not to say that we should underestimate the value of old beliefs. Some traditional views are applicable to modern society, some are even precious. Although the economical and social environment is changing, something in root should remain unchanged. For example, ancient Chinese people attach great significance to working hard, which is still valuable and appreciated in today’s workplace. Other traditional characteristics in China such as politeness, honesty and good manners are still beneficial if young people can adopt them. In addition, although some conventions seem useless, they are the essence of our traditional culture. When combined with new thing, they may show us surprises. The adapted Chinese traditional dress -- chi-pao, which has becomes popular on an international stage, is a good example.

In all, I am personally convinced that although some old ideas are useless and even seem stupid, there still exit those of values. It is important for us to inherit the essence of traditional beliefs and improve some of them by adding new things continuously to keep human civilization dynamic and active.