In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

For the past few decades, fast food has come under fire because of its numerous health consequences. Some people suggest that the best solution to reduce the excessive consumption of this kind of food is to put a high tax rate on this segment. From my point of view, this doesn’t seem to be the panacea.

To commence, on the one hand, I can understand why people think that a tax on junk food is crucial. It is undeniable that a myriad of diet-related health problems such as diabetes, high cholesterol, heart and respiratory diseases and the like are on the rise due to the production of fast food. Some researches even show that eating fast food can produce addiction-like behaviours, which may result in a kind of addiction like cocaine or heroin in the future. In basic economic term, adding high tax on to this kind of food may be sensible because product demand would lower in correspondence to the price hike.

However, on the other hand, I believe that extracting more tax from people doesn’t effectively make fast food less appealing to consistent fast food consumers, who have already been aware of ill-effects of unhealthy food. The tax will only raise the prices without any change in behaviours. Moreover, for some poor families, fast food is not a choice but a necessity. These people are compelled to eat junk food simply because healthy food is unaffordable. Thus, the taxation will reduce the poor’s ability to make non-food purchases and only have a marginal effect on the middle and high income groups. Furthermore, encouraging or discouraging certain behaviours via taxation may be regarded as an infringement on basic human rights. Obviously, as an individual of society, every citizen should be allowed to enjoy the quick and cheap service that fast food offers. Ready-to-eat meals are conveniently available, which makes it the ideal service for those who have to eat on the run, especially in the pace of modern business.

From an economic point of view, imposing a higher tax on prepackaged foods can hurt the economy. A recent research launched by the International Franchise Association (IFA) has shown that the segment called Quick Service Restaurant accounts for more than a half of sales in the restaurant sector in the USA. Less demands for fast food due to the increase in the prices will bring in less revenue, which leads to fast food businesses going into debt and may end up in bankruptcy. For this reason, over four million employees of this industry can become unemployed, which definitely leads to families’ greater poverty and the nation’s facing further hardships.

In conclusion, I strongly take the view that putting a high tax rate on fast food and junk food is not the one-size-fits-all solution to combat obesity. The be-all and end-all to create lasting change is that we have to encourage our fellow citizens to integrate good choices in their daily lives. Instead of implementing a fast food tax, other approaches such as making healthier alternatives more affordable and accessible or subsidizing farmers to grow more healthy vegetables may be more effective in reducing obesity issues.