Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs for example working for a charity improving neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about whether students should do some volunteer works as part of high school life. This has led to a suggestion that volunteer service should be a mandatory course of the high school programs. In my opinion, I strongly agree with that advice to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, there is a disadvantage of treating unpaid community service as a very important thing in high school programs which is wasting time. For instance, if at end of the semester, there are lots of review stuff that students have to do for preparing their final exams with lots of volunteer works that need to be done, it will make students be pressured. As a result, they may not receive a good result in their exam and behave negatively during their volunteer.

In fact, community volunteer is necessary to be in high school programs as a benefit of learning more about society. For example, if students help the community a lot when they are not an adult yet, they will learn a lot from their volunteer before they work in the real society. In other words, students can understand more about how to treat people in the society, which will help them do better in their future work.

In addition, volunteer works in high school courses can help students to deal with the stress in their studies. It is obvious that doing some interesting and meaningful volunteer works can help students under stress be relaxed and “escape from their school”. At the same time, they can get a feeling of satisfaction after they help others, which can encourage them to continue doing it and also makes more people be positive because of students’ help.

To recapitulate, the idea of making community volunteer be a mandatory part of high school programs. Although doing that will waste some students’ study time, it still can help students to understand society early and relief their pressure in their studies. Therefore, I will assert that it is totally acceptable to that.