Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems Some people say they should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is a fact that there is an increasing number of plastic bags used in shopping, which have a negative effect on the environment. In my opinion, plastic bags ought to be forbidden due to their harm to terrestrial and marine life.

It is clear that bags made of plastic cause a myriad of damage to humans and plants on the ground. First, plastic items mainly made from polythene have to take a long time to decompose, creating long-term consequences for human life. If garbage including plastics cannot be handled, gigantic landfills will be built throughout the roads, which is conducive for the harmful bacteria to proliferate. Second, the habit of littering indiscriminately can make discarded plastics mix into the soil. As a result, not only plants but also animals and people are poisoned because of the pernicious chemicals in plastic.

Another reason is that plastic bags for shopping have a detrimental impact on the water ecosystem. To begin with, discarded plastic items sinking into the ocean pose a threat to aquatic creatures as they mistake plastics for food. Turtles, for instance, are the unfortunate victim of plastics annually as they suffer from entanglement and ingestion of plastic debris. In addition, plastic waste floating around ponds and rivers can cause clogged sewers. Therefore, obnoxious odors can be quickly produced, which put the respiratory system of living organisms in jeopardy.

In conclusion, shopping bags made of plastic should be banned because of their discernible effect on the environment regarding terrestrial and undersea life.