Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a chairity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

A notion that volunteering programs should be included in high-school curriculum is justifiable since it can make pupils learn about social empathy. It not only improves students' interpersonal empathy but also their leadership abilities.

Student’s ability to understand one another is essential and it can be built through charity programmes organised by educational institutions. If youngsters learn about social empathy, they are less likely to bully their classmates at school. This is to say, they are able to socialise with people from various social groups and have a better understanding of other people's problems. A study from the International Journal of Psychology in 2018 showed that there was a relationship between participation in social activities by students and bullying tendencies. This study also discovered that 87% of kids who participated in school community service had healthier relationships with their peers than those who did not. As a result, the incidence of bullying in schools decreased sharply.

What is more? The obligation to engage in the school's unpaid community service as a tertiary need might assist children to strengthen their leadership qualities, impacting more and more students who are qualified and have the potential to be leaders not only now but in the future. The reason why leadership skills can be improved is they learn how to plan effective meetings and handle several events. An example for this is Islamic boarding school where the pupils usually held social activities at a Bandung orphanage. They will be required to plan dates, coordinate a venue, and educate orphanage younger children. When they become graduates, they will be a strong leader in their environment.

To sum up, the fact that a charity event is integrated in the school curriculum has its advantages such as promoting the leadership skill and social empathy of the youngster. However, teachers and educational institutions must support and supervise the pupils in such activities.