Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High schools should not just focus on the schools subjects; they should also prioritize voluntary works that serves a community. I completely agree with the given statement as it increases social responsibilities and also boost their academic performance. The viewpoints and the reasoning for supporting the view is fully explained in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Firstly, when students are engaged in such community work they will build the social responsibilities, which is a positive factor since it can make them socially aware. They will also be more connected towards outdoor social activities making them to uproot the introvert nature and assist them to be exposing to the service sector. This activity will also make them mentally as well as physically fit for the reason that they get the proper exposure with different people enabling them to learn from the others experience, and also make them physically fit by getting proper involvement in physical works around the community. For example; it is found that student engaged in social service will focus their life towards serving others than focusing only on their career which will build a better community.

Second of all, scholars will also achieve higher academic success. This might be surprising but it is mostly found that students who are exposed to community service will have motive to make influence to the society, thus they have goal and are far more willing to achieve those goals than those who are just studying indoor with no activities involved. Moreover, they can learn beyond the curriculum which the others’ (curriculum focused students) lack. Therefore, to boost the academic performance and remain motivated these activities are mostly essential.

In conclusion, I believe if children are equipped with the opportunity to be engaged in unpaid community service they can learn about their social responsibilities and at the same time help to focus and be motivated to set goal and study harder.