Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

there is an opinion that students in high school should compulsorily participate in unpaid community services. Although there may be some merits, I totally disagree with this proposal for it do not rationally consider the feasibility and morality.

The principal reason is that it is not feasible to organise all the high school students to provide unpaid community services. The number of students is too large, compared with the number of positions; thus, they may impact the operation of , for example, charities, local schools or non-government organisations. Moreover, the students may not follow the guidence of their teachers or managers, bringing troubles to the local communities.rt

A more important reason why I oppose this policy is that students also have the right to choose their works even if they are immature. Basically, there are thousands of ways in the world for them to contuibute; some examples are to be scientists, managers or manufacturers, instead of to be social workers only. if students want to work in areas highly different from community service, they would be disappoiting to be managed to work for a charity or a primary school. In this case, this policy is merely wasting their time and exploiting their labour [, given that it is unpaid.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the opinion to set the unpaid community service to be a compulsory programme in high school. this is because not only this proposal is not tactful and may do harm to community, but also it is morally wrong.