Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about how much compulsoriness educational institutions should introduce voluntary community activities to the curriculum. I partly agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, Forcing students to take part in unpaid community service could bring some benefits for either the high schools or their pupils. Firstly, these activities might help improve relationships among students, which is really important to educational outcomes of schools. Because during the time students participate in real-activities together, such as working for a charity, teaching sports to children, they have more time to understand to each other. They can, therefore, support together in studying. Secondly, these compulsory programmes could also educate students hand-on experiences, and practical skills. Getting along well with other peoples is a good example of this.

On the other hand, I still believe that it seems to not reasonable to force all the pupils, and teachers as well to take part in the programmes. On an individual level, not all people love to do unpaid work perhaps because of their quality of self-containment, which means that it goes against the value of a free and fair society to force a group of people to do something against their will. Therefore, doing this could make them feel that they were being used, and might result in the growing dissastisfaction among young people.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible for high schools to begin voluntary activities as part of educational programmes, but in my opinion, we should not make this compulsory.