Some people believe that the use of mobile phones in public should be banned.

Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that using mobile phones in public places should be prohibited as it brings certain impacts to society in general and individuals in particular. Personally, I hold a firm belief that it is essential to ban the use of mobile devices in public.

For a variety of reasons, smart phones should be banned in certain areas. To begin with, public places such as hospitals should be kept peaceful as patients need quality time to optimize their recovery. Hence, when people use their phones regardless of whatever purposes, especially making phone calls, this may destroy the tranquil atmosphere, which must be maintained all the time, in hospitals. Moreover, cell phones must not be used in petrol stations. This is because when people turn on their cell phones, phone signals may interrupt, causing technical error in petrol pumps, which are mainly operated by using technological chips. Therefore, such errors might cause unexpected catastrophe such as explosion.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, cell phone prohibition is necessary in public. One of the greatest reasons is that stopping people from using their personal phones can reduce the traffic accident rate. Due to the fact that mobile phones often distract transport users, using cell phones while driving can lead to tragic accidents as commuters might lose their sight, hitting objects in front of their vehicles. In addition, using smart phones while riding motorbike can attract snatchers. For instance, in third-world countries, bikers’ phones are often snatched if they use their phones without being cautious. As a result, prohibiting the use of mobile devices can partially help alleviate crime, especially in underdeveloped countries.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that it is vital to ban smart phones in some places such as hospitals, gas stations or when commuters driving their transport.