Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviours. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, the increase in the tourism business is calling to question how inhabitants in a host country as well as tourists should behave. Although many are of an opinion that tourists should obey local norms and cultures, some people believe that the host country should get embrace the customs and behaviours of foreign countries. In this essay, I will discuss both views and argue why the host country ought to welcome cultural differences.

To start with, by following the local beliefs and etiquette, visitors can show respect and understanding forward local people. Indeed, there are more people travelling abroad today who have experienced new cultures confirmed that they feel more socialized when understanding the customs of the country they visit. For instance, travellers who have visited junior schools in Japan were surprised by the way students in this country greet adults. They tend to bow 45 degrees to express respectful attitudes. Even in normal daily life and in a working environment, bowing 45 degrees is the most crucial custom in Japan. Therefore, learning new cultures before travelling to a foreign country will be more likely to help people behave appropriately. As a result, following the local cultures might create new ties of friendship and trust between people.

In contrast, there is a disagreement with the previous view that the host nation should accept cultures and traditions from different countries and I am in the same opinion. The host country will be able to gain more knowledge about various cultures and traditions from other countries if they welcome cultural differences. In recent years, our world has changed and become more innovative. Consequently, enculturation is a significant part of development in most countries.

To conclude, some people concur that travellers should adopt local cultures while others opine that residents in the host country should welcome the way foreigners live. From my point of view, I agree with the idea of accepting tourists' behaviours as they have the right to be respected.