Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some individuals assume that inadequate waste from homes is recycled. They have the notion that the only way to increase recycling is for the supreme authority to make a mandatory obligation. From my perspective, I completely do not compromise with that statement and I will give my own opinion in this essay.

It is understandable why several people say that making compulsory obligations is the only method to increase recycling. To begin with, laws which are enacted by the government make the citizens adhere to the law. If someone objects to the regulations, they will be given a penalty varying from small fines to community service such as cleaning the park or even imprisonment or repeat offenders as a deterrent. Moreover, it enables the community to be enhanced and improve the quality of life, which also contributes to tackling some environmental issues because everyone has the general fear of being punished by the administrative institutions and made to pay a huge amount of money for their fault.

However, this action seems to be impossible in some way, so instead of passing some laws to compel people to recycle, we should raise public awareness about environmental issues and encourage people to recycle more of their household waste. I believe, children from an early age must be taught to recycle and reuse useful materials and companies should also make goods that last longer. Moreover, we should reduce the amount of waste we produce which is a result of our consumer culture. For example, if something in our house breaks, we throw it away and buy a new one instead of repairing it.

In conclusion, there are several risky consequences of compulsory obligation because it is obvious that people find it extremely frustrating to follow strict laws, so other methods should be encouraged.