Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste recycling seems to be an increasingly widespread problem in recent decades. It is said that individuals are less responsible for these issues and it is necessary for governments to have an intervention by giving strict rules. In my perspective, law applying is not the only measure that the government should take.

Waste recycling is an action to protect the environment by the way of separating the waste into two main categories: organic and inorganic waste. The governments could make it an obligatory law for householders to follow this waste separation process before disposing of. The punishments will be applied to those who fail to adhere to this rule, ranging from the lowest form like paying a fine to the highest level of putting into prison, which depends on the frequency of offending.

However, introducing a law is not the only effective solution to reduce this environmental problem. Instead, the possible measure comes from education. Waste recycling should be acted as a compulsory subject in educational programs. For example, the school should teach children knowledge of recycling, for them to have a sense of environmental protection, which leads to a gradual increase in waste separation awareness when they grow up. Furthermore, politicians should hold a recycling campaign for homeowners to understand the dire impacts of home waste.

Another tactic that the governments should take steps is investing money on improving facilities and system which support the waste recycling process, regardless of whether householders separate it in the right way or not

In conclusion, it seems to me that in addition to introducing a law to waste recycling, the governments should take other measures to tackle this environmental problem