Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some say that the recycling of waste is not enough which the only method to handle this issue is putting legislations by authorities. While this may be an effective way to increase recycling, in my opinion, there is another way to encourage people to recycle.

In today’s world, recycling is becoming more essential to protect the environment and preserve the world for posterity. Yet, there is not enough action regarding this. For some people, the government must put a law as a means of making recycling a legal requirement. By doing that, people are obligated to do good for the environment even if they are not eager to do so. However, ragerdless of their feelings, this will end up in increased recycling. In Canada, for example, each day of the week is saved for another kind of recycling, such as plastic or glass. And according to the rules, people who do not complie with the days of recycling will punished with fine in addition to not collecting their waste, which leads to building of waste in front of the house. While this is an effective way to handle this issue, there is another suitable way.

Another applicable method to address this issue is foster people to recycle without forcing them by laws. If people have seen the possitive effect of recycling, it could encourage them to do more. For example, people who throw their garbage into recycling bins can gain small percent of their waste’s price. Likewise, in Germany, there are machines in every corner which gives you money for recyclinh, which eventually increase its frequency.

To conclude, altough making recycling a legal requirement is an effective method to increase recycling, it is not the only way.