Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while other disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public transport is an indispensable part in our lives. It is believed that the government should not charge citizen for using public transport while others have different thought.

There are certainly some reasons why free public transport should be provided. One of the reasons is that it could greatly protect the environment. By simply providing free buses and trains, local citizens are more willing to use those transportation instead of private car. As a result, number of private cars will rapidly decrease on the road, and , in turn, the improvement of air quality. Apart from this, this will definitely ease the financial burden on local residents. As living in metropolis, most employees and workers still spend a large sum of money on commuting to work because parking fees in City is incredibly high. Therefore, free access to Metro and shuttle bus can reduce the living expenses.

However, there are opposing voices. To start with, this would increase congestion of the public transport. It is human nature that people tend to take advantages of free services. If tickets are not required for public transport, for example, buses and trains will become extremely crowded. Consequently, it leads to unpleasant travels for passengers. Another reason is the development of car manufacturing industry will be hindered. As more and more people choose to travel with free public transport, the demand of private cars will significantly decrease. Car manufactures therefore have no choice but cut down the output.

In conclusion, although there are disadvantages in this statement, I still think that the

government should be free of charge buses and trains because it would improve our quality of lives.