Some people feel that children should be educated in single sex schools while others argue that mixed schools are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is indisputable that education plays an integral role in the development of humans. For many people, they prefer a mode of classroom that involves a teacher working with only boys or only girls. However, others opine that co-educational schooling can offer a more rounded education. While these two types of schools have their own merits and demerits, I tend toward the first viewpoint.

There are some compelling reasons why lots of parents opt for mixed schools for their children. First, a co-educational system allows students to learn from each other and gain a better knowledge about the differences among two genders. After all, both girls and boys still have to coexist in a society and that if they are already familiar with genders’ divergences, the number of conflicts due to the misunderstanding might be restrained, especially in their workplaces. Moreover, they can also pick up new skills or traits from others and develop mutual respect for one another.

Despite the benefits of coeducational setting aforementioned, my inclination is to separate boys and girls into two different schools. It is probably true to say that in a single-sex classroom, teachers will be able to concentrate on specific styles of teaching to a particular gender. Researchers have shown that boys and girls have different ways of learning, while boys tend to study better through movement, sound and touch, girls can learn better through visual and oral means. Therefore, with the development of single-sex education, teachers will no longer have to change their style of teaching frequently to respone both genders. Another positive aspect of this type of school is that some children succeed because there is no social pressure which is commonly found between genders in mixed schools. They will be able to learn, grow and develop at their own pace.

In brief, while many people have a preference to mixed education, I believed that single-sex school will be a more effective environment for students of both genders to study.