Some people feel that it is necessary to test new medicines on animals, while other people feel that this is not fair on animals and not necessary.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Testing new medicines on animals has always been a point of contention between those who support it and those who object it. While there are strong reasons to support medical testing on animals, I am bound to believe that it is unfair to animals and not essential.

On the one hand, supporters of testing on animals argue that it is an essential stage in testing medical drugs and potential cures. If drugs that can potentially cure chronic diseases are not tested on animals, there is no way to predict its effect on humans and ensure its effectiveness. Furthermore, there are many cures to different diseases that were discovered thanks to animal testing. To exemplify this, the effectiveness of chemotherapeutic drugs that help in curing cancer was tested on rats before it was approved on humans. Finally, because of animal rights laws, scientists make sure that animals do not suffer during these tests.

On the other hand, I would like to side with those who are against animal testing. Firstly and foremost, testing on animals is an immoral act; as humans have no right to subject animals through the pain and torture of medical testing. Secondly, many animals can die, possibly, in vain because of these experiments, which sometimes are only done for the sake of scientific journals rather than real medical tests. Thirdly, modern technology, specifically artificial intelligence, can simulate the drug effects without the need to use animals. For instance, in France, a potential drug for treating malignant brain tumors was tested on computers first, before it was approved for human testing.

In conclusion, while there are potential merits for animal testing related to its practicality and historical precedence, I believe the demerits weigh far heavier for moral and practical reasons.