Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Packaging is an integral part of the consumer’s experience and a tool enhancing the brand awareness of companies but it has generated a significant amount of waste and pollution. While some argue that producers and retailers are accountable for reducing packing materials, others opine that this onus is on consumers who should opt for products with minimal packaging. From my point of view, it requires collaborative accountability from both enterprises and each resident.

On the one hand, manufacturers and supermarkets should take responsibility for the packaging waste they generate. First and foremost, they are the decision-makers who determine the way their products are wrapped. Indeed, to avoid damage and maximize profit, many manufacturers have been utilizing low-cost petroleum-based plastics to protect their products while they should have utilized technology innovations that allow using fewer materials, biodegradable types or recycled ones. Lush Cosmetics, a renowned UK-based beauty company, for instance, has come up with a novel formula for their eco-friendly solid shampoo which requires no containers which not only reduces packaging amount but also facilitates brand awareness among groups of environmentally conscious people. Besides, many consumers have very little awareness about the negative impacts that the excessive amounts of product packaging are having on the environment while businesses could greatly create environmentally friendly consumer consumption habits, encouraging citizens to join in cutting packaging waste. To illustrate, IKEA has designed packages that customers can reuse as model toys for children just by following the manual printed or some supermarkets give customers fabric bags for shopping instead of plastic ones.

However, I believe that to alleviate effectively excessive packaging issues, apart from firms’s responsibility, individuals also should be environmentally conscious consumers as this issue mainly stems from their shopping habits and preferences for convenience. For instance, products with several layers of wrapping or individual packaging are often associated with higher quality in Vietnam. The rise of online shopping might also be a main culprit because its shipping process requires additional packaging. If all consumers boycotted products with disposable or unnecessary packaging and favored items with sustainable packaging materials, businesses would act accordingly. Take the Highland Coffee chain in Vietnam as an example, they have switched to using bamboo straws, paper bags, and reusable cups in their stores to meet the customers’ tastes. Indeed, the end users can use their buying power to drive positive change in packaging practices.

In conclusion, there are two schools of thought that reducing packaging waste is the sole onus of producers or consumers. However, from my perspective, to effectively pursue minimal and sustainable packaging, every party involved should take the initiative and exert their influence on the others.