Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the way youngsters living in their community. While there are numerous benefits to complying with the long-established traditions, I believe that it is better when young people freely do as they like.

There are several reasons why it might be considered significant to pursue behavior patterns of the ethnic group. Firstly, it contributes to evolving a moral value system for children up to be adults. In the majority of eastern countries, for instance, toddlers are educated to respect and be well-mannered with people who are older than them. Secondly, globalization in recent years has integrated various cultures and increased the gap between generations in society. Therefore, the national cultural identity possibly would be obliterated if teenagers completely overlook their rituals.

In spite of these arguments, I would side with those who assume that youngsters should have a right to independently determine their own lifestyle. Longevous cultures can restrict the capability of young people. For example, women in Asian countries have less chance to learning and working outside, they are required to do household chores and take care of their children instead because of male chauvinism. Furthermore, gaining freedom in modern life opens valuable opportunities for teenagers to exchange and acquire neoteric knowledge such as the latest invention and scientific and technological progress from different countries in the world.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that it is much more comfortable for youngsters to behave as individuals than obey the communal customs of society.