Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that teenagers continue to preserve and promote the traditions inherent in our forefathers, whereas others are of the opinion that they ought to be free to behave as individuals. Personally, while I acknowledge that young people should rightfully have a certain degree of individualism, I still believe that societal traditions should be maintained.

On the one hand, there are some apparent reasons why societal traditions should be followed by the youth. By definition, traditions symbolize the long history and culture of a country or nation and the reflection of the society’s long-standing sets of values and standards. Therefore, the responsibility is on young people to follow these traditions, not only to maintain a sense of continuity from the past, but also to create social unity and cohesion. Additionally, by preserving traditions, teenagers can learn valuable lessons which passed from their forefathers in dao songs, proverbs passed down through thousands of centuries and their authenticity has not changed.

On the other hand, there are others who believe young people have certain rights to behave as free individuals. Not all traditions are worth imitating, there will be some that are outdated, old-fashioned and inapplicable to the thought of today's society. For example, gender imbalance is no longer present nowadays thanks to the increasing awareness of women who have learned to fight for their freedom and rights to eliminate this false tradition. Along with the development of the country, the tendency of individualization among young people is more than in the past when they make their own decisions, express their personal opinions, adopt new things from foreign countries which are towards a unique, less constrained life.

To sum up, the young should respect and follow the traditions of society but to a particular extent not in their entirety, they should keep their individualism.