Some people participate in extra-curricular activities such as volunteering in charitable events or joining dance groups to gain more knowledge and experience. Others simply focus on their goals such as academic studies or work. Which do you think helps in improving a person's knowledge and experience? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In this day and age knowledge and experience are the most important aspects of anyone’s career. People are divided in their opinion regarding the ways of gaining knowledge and experience. Some of them prefer to participate in the extra-curricular activities while others stick to the traditional academic studies and work further to get the hold of the same.

I strongly opine that knowledge and experience can be gained with a mix of both the ways I mentioned above. Talking about the academic study, I think it gives us the niche and the base of working ahead on the practical front. Learning something from the book and replicating the same in our daily lives are two different things. To cite an example, a person studies a concept from a book but that doesn’t exactly give him the confidence to replicate or use that knowledge practically. In this situation extra- curricular activities are of big help. Working in groups or volunteering for someone gives you the knack of how exactly to put the knowledge to practice.

To my way of thinking academics do give us good amount of knowledge but in terms of our personal development we are pulled backwards. Talking about improving ourselves, I would strongly recommend anyone to not just follow one method but to see things from different perspectives. If academic studies teach us a particular theory, working in groups helps us to experience and observe the same in reality. Participating in others activities tops up the knowledge section which the academic books are providing, which further help us in working independently.

To end this interesting discussion, I would like to say that reaching a goal is important but more important is the journey we choose to reach the same.