Some people prefer to be self-employed, whereas others like working for companies or institutions. Which is a better approach?

Cutting-edge technology of the present era has opened the way to different kinds of work. In response to which, some people began telecommuting, while, others still prefer to work in a corporation or firm. I believe the latter being much better despite both having their own advantages and disadvantages.

It is an irrefutable fact that working for oneself is like having all the gold to yourself even though there may be some risk. For instance, if a person is not working under someone, he/she will not have to face lot of pressure, while, at the same time, there is no one who will bear the risk of loss for them. Another point to be considered is that person have more time to spend with families and have much more say in what he/she wants to do. Although, according to circumstances, it can be boon or curse as there is no surety whether family will aid in work or interfere with it. To instantiate, a person who is self-employed and have 2 or 3 children can either cater to need of his/her children all the time or work. It becomes difficult to create balance between both.

Therefore, I believe that working in an organisation is much fruitful as there are very less demerits which can be coped with the time. Predominantly, working under someone means there is less burden on oneself about gains or losses and one can focus much easily on the work, since, there are less distractions. To exemplify, at workplace, there are not much besides the colleagues with whom, one can talk from time to time about the problems in work and life. Another benefit is the working hours are fixed which means a person can enjoy the rest of his day with family members and relax a bit. A good example of this can be cited in lifestyle of self-employed person who often have to pick-up late night calls from clients which is not a problem in working in company.

To encapsulate, it depend much more on the preference of people who want to work as each individual has his/her own views regarding working conditions.