Some people prefer to live in a house while others think that there are more advantages living in an apartment.

Do the drawbacks of living in a house outweigh the benefits?

People hold conflicting views about whether they should settle down in a house or an apartment in a residential building. While there are numerous disadvantages of living in a house, I am of the opinion that the advantages are greater.

On the one hand, this type of accommodation can be disadvantageous for various reasons. Firstly, the security system of houses is, in the aggregate, inferior to that of high-rise buildings. The major reason is that most houses are without professional security staff, anti-theft keycards and cameras. This lures potential burglars into committing theft in these areas, especially when house owners are away. Secondly, real estate tends to be prohibitively expensive, particularly in metropolises. A large number of dwellers in Hanoi, for instance, cannot afford a house although they spend years working hard and saving money. In this case, an apartment seems to be a more affordable choice for the majority of the population.

On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages of possessing a house pale in comparison with the benefits. One of the key advantages is that it is easier for one to escape or to be rescued from a house if there is an emergency such as an earthquake or a fire happening. Unlike high-rise blocks, houses are considerably lower with fewer floors and exits can be quickly navigated, which is one of the most decisive factors to survive in life-threatening situations. Additionally, house owners are more likely to ensure better living space for family members, especially for children. These children tend to be healthier and more sociable when playing sports with friends in their backyard or garden on a daily basis while those living in an apartment often do nothing but spend hours watching TV or playing video games in their free time due to the lack of playgrounds in many residential buildings these days.

In conclusion, despite several drawbacks that residing in a house has, I subscribe to the idea that they are far outweighed by the substantial benefits.