Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is sometimes argued that if the benefits brought by playing video games overcome the bad impacts for people, especially the younger generation. In my opinion, although there are undoubtedly some bad impacts on video game players, I do believe that it is worthy to play due to positive outcomes.

Admittedly, some people are influenced badly by digital games nowadays. They are obsessed with video games and spend too much time in front of the screens, without moving for hours in play stations or at home. The sedentary lifestyle has no good for the ‘screenagers’’ mental and physical health by damaging their eyesight and providing few chances to exercise and to meet people. Also, it seems that there is no need for children to create or make up their own games, which limits the development of the brain. Even worse, people may copy and mimic violent actions from some video games and bring criminal into reality.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that playing video games benefits people a lot. Firstly, it is one of the most common ways to model people to have fun and relax with friends or alone in their free time. Secondly, there are increasing educational online games for teachers and parents to educate children in a fun way. For instance, students are providing a play-based learning environment when they use ‘Osmo’ to learn how to spell words. Finally, many necessary skills, such as typing, searching for information online and digital communication, can be acquired during playing video games.

In conclusion, as long as people can control the time they spend playing video games and what types of games youngsters play, they would gain a countless bonus by play.