Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people think that computer games are a harmless hobby and a handy way for education. Nevertheless, others argue that they bring out plentiful negative impacts on the players. In my opinion, I believe that the downsides of these games are much greater than the upsides.

Video games could provide several benefits. To begin with, in many cases, playing electronic games is an immense opportunity to relieve stress after a hard working or studying day. It would help people escape from the hustle and bustle of life and immerse themselves in a new world where is almost different from the real world. Secondly, players can acquire a great deal of skill from computer games. Take Quan, who is my high school friend, for example. He is a big fan of some brain games such as Lumosity, and he tells me that playing those kinds of game enhances his logical thinking.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, it seems to me that the adverse effects of playing electronic games far exceed the positive on both and social level. From individuals, most people who indulge themselves in computer games have been facing some health problems. Keeping their eyes glued to the computer screens for a long time would lead to vision impairment, as a result, the number of people wearing thick glasses is increasing. From a social perspective, these games can give rise to crime. Playing video games is not only time-consuming but also money-consuming, so if an addicted player ran out of money to spend on the game, he or she would do some illegal activities like thievery to earn money.

In conclusion, I would like to sum up my view that video games are more likely to be harmful than beneficial.