Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful
educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an
adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of
video games outweigh the benefits?
Many people, and children in particular, enjoy playing computer games. While I accept
that these games can sometimes have a positive effect on the user, I believe that they
are more likely to have a harmful impact.
On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users, or
gamers, are transported into virtual worlds which are often more exciting and engaging
than real-life pastimes. From an educational perspective, these games encourage
imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking and problem
solving, all of which are useful skills outside the gaming context. Furthermore, it has
been shown that computer simulation games can improve users’ motor skills and help
to prepare them for real-world tasks, such as flying a plane.
However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming
can be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets and
frequent rewards to keep them playing. Many children now spend hours each day trying
to progress through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their friends. This
type of addiction can have effects ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school,
when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console. The rise
in obesity in recent years has also been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack
of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction.
In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more
significant than the possible benefits.