Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is true that these days, computer games are favored by a number of people because of their educational benefits and entertainment value. While I accept that these games can sometimes have negative effects on the user, I believe that their advantages are more significant.

On the one hand, video games might be harmful in some ways. First, game addiction is regarded as the primary cause of some health problems. For example, starring for a prolonged time at a bright screen while playing video games may result in some eye and vision problems such as eye strain or short-sightedness. Second, spending hours each day playing games means people will lose a great deal of work and study time. For instance, when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console, school children will have limited time for study, causing a possible deterioration in their academic performance.

On the other hand, I would claim that the benefits of video games outweigh the side effects mentioned above. It has been shown that playing video games is a good form of entertainment. Admittedly, a fair amount of time for computer games after nerve-racking hours of work can help people to ease their busy mind and feel the stress melt away. Another advantage is that video games are of great help from the perspective of brain development because game players are challenged to work through given targets and levels to gain higher scores or rewards. Clearly, in doing so, people,

especially children, can develop independent problem solving and logical thinking, preparing them for real-world tasks.

In conclusion, it seems to me that video games have both positive and negative ramifications. However, due to the reasons presented above, I believe that the benefits are greater than drawbacks.