Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two main arguments in favor of the influence of advertising on buyers. The first is that anything that is advertised a lot seems to be bought a lot. We can see that the most popular appliance brands advertised on TV and the Internet also seem to be the products that people are buying, which is how many companies promote their products. Another common argument is that companies wouldn’t advertise if it didn’t bring in revenue. Commercials are extremely expensive and as companies continue to do them, they must be successful or the costs won’t show anything.

However, some people believe that we no longer pay much attention to advertising. They simply assume that people don’t watch TV ads because they move on to other tasks whenever they appear. For example, when there is a commercial break in a TV show, people often take it as an opportunity to run out to eat. Furthermore, when people cannot avoid advertising, they will ignore it. For example, people are so used to pop-ups and marketing content on the right side of their computer screens that they tend to ignore anything that takes up this space.

In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have merit. However, the attractiveness of advertising is even stronger. I think this is because advertising is constantly evolving and finding creative ways to grab our attention and convince us of the need to buy a product.