Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people argue that crucial social issue needs to be addressed on tv programs to educate the audience. I agree with the notion as it increases audience awareness and prevents conflict from happening.

Addressing the main social issue on tv for education purposes is necessary to promote awareness, encouraging people to empathize with conflicts. This is because when people see information coming from their favorite tv program, they are engaged more to pay attention, making them relate to the messages conveyed. For instance, the rate of missing persons in Korea decreased drastically in the past couple of years after the highest-grossing series, Beyond Evil, addressed how human trafficking can happen in society. This increased awareness among the majority of people, including police, to investigate this case more thoroughly regarding the missing person. Thus, a program can generate empathy toward social issues.

Conflict prevention is another reason why tv should put main social issues on their programs as their audience could learn the crux problem from a dispute. This encourages them to coexist well with each other, which results in peaceful living conditions in society. For example, as more news channels in Indonesia convey curch demolishment in many areas in Indonesia, which primarily results in anarchy, people are now aware that intolerance and disrespect are the primary reasons for that. After several years of exposing such conflicts on the news, the case decreased by half in the following years as more people learned to accept diversity in society. Hence, bringing social issues to tv lowers the issue from happening in the future.

To conclude, raising the audience’s awareness and conflict prevention are the two primary reasons why major social problems should be aired on tv. If possible, television associations need to impose regulations for the sustainability of the programs.