Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

One school of thought holds that adding more public sports infrastructures is the most effective way to improve public health. While the benefits of this are irrefutable, I would contend that it might be impractical in certain circumstances if carried alone, and thus should be executed in parallel with other measures.

It is understandable why some people acknowledge that increasing sports facilities is the foremost method of improving public health. One rationale for this belief probably is that there is a strong correlation between physical exercise and human wellbeing. The availability of more sports facilities could provide the residents an incentive to exercise regularly, thereby possibly helping them to improve their health. Despite the aforementioned benefits, increasing the number of sports facilities is not feasible for all. This can be seen in the case of occupied individuals, whose hectic schedules often leave them insufficient time to rest, let alone exercising.

Given the aforementioned limitations, I would argue that other measures should also be adopted to better increase public health. Regarding the government’s responsibilities, it is imperative that they should mount more campaigns to raise public awareness about the serious health consequences of a sedentary lifestyle. This can be key to enhancing health and longevity because when they realize these dire repercussions, they will try their best to manage their packed schedules and spend more time doing exercises. Furthermore, poor dietary habits also have a strong impact on public health, with excessive consumption of fast food contributing to an increase in obesity rates. Therefore, in order to improve public health, there is a need to promote healthier eating habits.

In conclusion, although adding sports infrastructures is indeed of necessity to improve public health, it is not feasible for those with busy schedules. For these cases, mounting more campaigns and promoting healthy eating habits are the optimal methods to aid individuals in enhancing their overall well-being.