Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, there is a growing trend that a foreign language should be taught at an early age rather than at when they’re teenagers. Although this trend appears to bring in some thought-provoking setbacks, in fact, it is a blessing in disguise. My arguments are as follows.

Granted, supporters of the upside have mentioned some merits worth considering. To be more detailed, adolescents are claimed not to study the second language because of their brains’ developments. They have just climbed up the ladder from kindergarten, where they can play whenever they want. Instead of becoming bilingual, they can choose to focus on natural science and their mother tongue. However, those minor distinctions are not tenable enough to counter the negative effects.

Initially, a look at the features of this issue reveals some certain benefits. Recent researchers have shown that, children between four to nine show opportunity of learning a new language. Among two hundred junior students had been surveyed showed that the gap mentioned above play a crucial role in children’s behaviors and characteristics. Forming multilingual thinking for toddlers may affect satisfactorily in the future, as they can have the advantage on language in this competitive society. Thus, getting better opportunities for scholarships and jobs. Namely, a friend of mine has been learning English since he was four and now, he achieves the admirable SAT score of 1530 and TOEFL score of 118 out of 120.

In conclusion, the issue discussed above is a double-edged sword in which, both the merits and defects should be drawn to attention if one were to pick a side to support. From my standpoint, after careful reflection, I still support the idea of teaching foreign language for kids.