Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

Many people have an opinion that, poverty has been reduced due to the progression of economic status. Whereas, it is argued by some that, since economic development has led to pollution, it should be mitigated. This essay will discuss both the perspectives. In my opinion, pollution should be prevented, but it does not mean that economic growth should be stopped.

On the one hand, poverty has been vanished from many countries because of the positive growth in the economy. To cite an example, India was a developing country, many Indians was under the poverty line. Since after the industrialization, the standard of living in India has increased to a greater extent. Although the unemployment rate was high in many countries, with the development of both agricultural and industrial sectors has created plenty of jobs for the citizens and thus it provided basic amenities to all like food, shelter and health care to everyone. In addition, increasing economic condition will also improve the infrastructural facilities, which will attract more visitors as a part of tourism. Therefore, economic growth is a great deal to improve the living standard of people and to eradicate poverty.

Even though economic growth brought many benefits, it is argued by some that, it has a few drawbacks. Firstly, the increased number of cars will show no signs of decreasing pollution. Secondly, the effluents from large factories pollute the water bodies. Last but not least, the energy that we used to produce the products even cracks the ozone layer and gradually contributed for the global warming. If these types of issues not tackled, it will create a lot of health issues like asthma, respiratory diseases and so on.

After analysing both the views, I am think that, economic progression is a great concept to overcome the poverty. Despite thinking about to stop economic growth, we should find some ways to cut the pollution and damage to the environment. For instance, using renewable energy source, proper waste management system and effective recycling methods can collaboratively solve this issues.

To summarize this topic, I would like to emphasize that, poverty is still the biggest head ache in many countries. Hence, in spite of stopping economic developments, we should find effective solutions to eradicate the possible threats from economic growth to the environment.