Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

These days, fostering the growth of economic is the main goal of each nation, which is likely to impact to human’s life directly. While many people suppose that the development of economy could solve the hunger and poverty problem, I argue that economic development is now destroying the natural environment so it is needed to be in control.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why some people believe that the economic progression the only way to end hunger and poverty. The economic growth means that the standard of life seem to be higher. There would be more jobs for the unemployed and people could have more opportunities to get a well-paid jobs. As a result, the wealth from profits will find its way into the pocket of the poor and the problem of hunger might be tackled. This argument made for imperialism.

On the other hand, I would argue that the nature is now being destroyed because of the economic development and there are a number of examples to support it. Nowadays, deforestation is happening more seriously than ever to produce crash crops for export. Fossil fuels and oil used for economic growth is being exploited out of control. Climate change, ice melt, the rise of sea level or the decrease in number of polar bear are also the consequences of industrialization and economic progression.

In conclusion, economic growth which is not sustainable must be stopped and production for human need, not profits, is the straight way forward to end hunger and poverty as well as to save the environment.