Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economic growth is the only solution to tackle hunger and poverty issues according to some people, whereas there are calls for stopping economic growth since it leads to the environment’s destruction. Developing some business facilities are mark of economic growth which causes some areas must be changed such as forests. Meanwhile, the government obtains significant income from economic growth.

On the one hand, this way has had a negative impact on the environment since the authority has to build supportive facilities in many sectors like health, education, and business. These ones will develop the green area as an alternative to exploit the region. For example, some developing countries in Southeast Asia have changed their forests to be entertainment sectors to attract many international tourists, yet this method causes these countries have to face either erosion or flooding in the extreme of the rainy season. This impact happens as the government ignores the forest’s functions.

On the other hand, economic growth results in a significant income for the authority which can be distributed to overcome the problem of hunger and poverty. To tackle these problems, there will be negative effects, but the government has to drive this way to reduce the problems. Most countries in Europe focused on developing industry sectors such as automotive and mining manufacturing after World War II to give job opportunities. It is crucial that society get a job in order to improve their quality of life.

In conclusion, economic growth always has an impact on the environment because constructing many facilities needs huge spaces thus green area is an alternative. However, hunger and poverty are the basic problems that must be tackled immediately; therefore, increasing economic growth is the best solution for this issue.