Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinion is divided as to whether economic growth is of great help to the world or not. Although such development causes damage to different natural parts of the earth, it is the most effective way to address poverty and hunger.

the opponents of economic growth often point to the fact that the integrity of nature is impacted. Such idea is predicated on certain observations especially in developing country where the quality of soil and water has been deteriorated by the excessive use of concrete and damaging building methods, ultimately affecting the natural diversity. For example, the construction of new residential area means a huge network of infrastructure which requires the clearance of different floral species. As a result, other species which are reliant on these kinds of vegetation also disappear.

Despite the aformentioned drawbacks, we cannot afford to stop the economic growth as it is the most important way to alleviate poverty and hunger. It is obvious that developing countries often attract foreign investments into rural places where the majority of poor people are residing. Therefore, new businesses and industries have been established, with the result that more jobs have been generated and the average living standards have been augmented. However, to minimize the impact of economic development on the local environment, the government should hire environmentalists to participate in the designing and building process to ensure that the local nature will be least impacted. By doing so, we can ensure that the economic development will not occur at the expense of local nature.

In conclusion, although there is some natural damage accured from economic activity, it is imperative to factor the well-being of local nature in the development of economy as it is the most prominent way to reduce poverty and hunger.